Tutkimusapurahat 2013

Diabetes Wellness Suomi toimintavuoden 2013 tutkimusapurahat

Säätiö on päättänyt jakaa tutkimusapurahoja seuraavasti:

Niyas K Saleem
M.Sc. Ph.D researcher
Itä-Suomen Yliopisto

Project title: MicroRNAs are as Emerging Biomarkers for Type 2 Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome
Note: has worked in Markku Laaksos lab since 2009(current RAB member), enclosed to application was a letter of recommendation. Markku has not been involved in the scoring process for this application.

5000 EUR


Diana Toivola
PhD, Docent Department of Biosciences, Cell biology
Åbo Akademi

Project title: Keratin intermediate filament as regulators in the endocrine pancreas
Note: Diana was funded with 5000 EUR in 2012 and she has reported on how the money was used and would like to receive additional funding in 2013 to be used in 2014 for a postdoc researcher Catarina Alam.

5000 EUR


Hänninen, Arno Lauri Mikael
M.D. PhD
Turun Yliopisto
Dept. of Medical microbiology and immunology

Project title: Probiotic bacteria in the prevention of type 1 diabetes in the NOD mouse

5000 EUR


Amirbabak Sioofy-Khojine
Tampereen Yliopisto

Note: The applicant is undertaking training in the field of type 1 diabetes research as a post doctoral researcher and would like to contribute scientifically to understand the causes of the disease and possible prevention methods by working with Malin Flodström Tullberg at Karolinska Institutet, Center for Infectious Medicine. This is a Travel Grant.

5000 EUR